Brick Mania
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark?

4 posters

Go down

[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? Empty [Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark?

Post  Jakester Tue Jun 10, 2014 6:12 am

Hello Brick Mania, just recently I started playing Minecraft again. On the dusk of my first night, I noticed how bright the nighttime was; I could see the entire region with almost full visibility!
  I looked around the MC forums for a mod to make nights darker, but I only found outdated mods or ones that were complicated to my returning MC modder brain. So I rooted around in the game settings, and found that reducing the gamma to -0.5 in the options.txt file makes the game refreshingly dark in areas that should have almost no visibility. (Note that this cannot be done while Minecraft is open)

[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? 28lcqrs
1) Open the .minecraft folder (Google it if you don't know how)
2) Open the options.txt file at the bottom
3) Change gamma: 1.0 (Or whatever numerical value it is at the time) to gamma: -0.5
3a) It should look like this: gamma: -0.5
4) Click File > Save
5) Start up Minecraft and assure that it is working.

It may seem like a minor change, but try it out! Cave diving is slow and suspenseful, you'll never want to be caught outside at night, and it can all be done without any modding; it's fully vanilla! It works in multiplayer as well, if that's what you fancy. If you don't like it, you can change it back instantly by wiggling the brightness setting a bit.

[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? 2ahd4iw

Screenshots: (Coterie Craft Texture Pack, MC 1.7.9)
Comparisons (Taken at slightly different times and angles, unfortunately.

[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? 161ets0
Negative Gamma
[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? Qswqs3
[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? 256vhxl
Negative Gamma
[Guide] Are You Afraid of the Dark? 29b0pyw

General Screenshots